FAS | Nuke | Guide | India | Agency |||| Index | Search |


The Indian Navy is the world’s seventh largest navy. It consists of two fleets, the Eastern Fleet, homeported primarily in Visakhapatnam, on the Bay of Bengal, and the Western Fleet, homeported primarily in Bombay, on the Arabian Sea. India will enter the 21st Century with a small but formidable regional naval posture. Long considered a "blue water" navy, the Indian Navy faces major challenges as many of its major vessels near the end of their service lives. Indigenous shipbuilding efforts are struggling to achieve acceptable levels of productivity and efficiency.

Sources and Resources

FAS | Nuke | Guide | India | Agency |||| Index | Search |


Maintained by Webmaster
Updated Thursday, July 02, 1998 6:47:37 AM