FAS | Nuke | Guide | India | Agency |||| Index | Search |


At the Army Headquarters in New Delhi, the Chief of the Army Staff is assisted by the Vice-Chief of the Army Staff and seven other Principal Staff Officers, namely, the two Deputy Chiefs of the Army Staff, Adjutant General, Quarter-master General, Master General of Ordnance, Military Secretary and Engineer-in-Chief. The Army is organised into six commands: Southern, Eastern, Western, Central, Northern and Training. Each command is under a General Officer Commanding-in-Chief who holds the rank of Lieutenant General.

A General Officer Commanding-in-Chief is the commander of demarcated geographical area and has both field and static formations under his command. The major field formations are Corps, Division and Brigade commanded by a General Officer Commanding of the rank of Lieutenant General, a General Officer Commanding of the rank of Major General and Brigadier, respectively. The major static formations are Areas, Independent Sub-Areas and Sub-Areas. An Area is commanded by a General Offficer Commanding of the rank of Major General and an independent Sub-Area and Sub-Area by a Brigadier.

The Army consists of a number of arms and services. These are:

Armoured Corps, Regiment of Artillery, Corps of Engineers, Corps of Signals, Mechanised Infantry, Infantry, Army Service Corps, Military Nursing Service, Army Medical Corps, Army Dental Corps, Army Ordnance Corps, Corps of Electrical and Mechanical Engineers, Remount and Veterinary Corps, Military Farms Service, Army Education Corps, Intelligence Corps, Corps of Military Police, Judge Advocate General Department, Anny Physical Training Corps, Pioneer Corps, Army Postal Service Crops and Defence Security Corps. In addition, the Army has its own Recruiting Organisation, Record Offices, Depots, Boys Establishments and Selection Centres and training institutions.

Sources and Resources

FAS | Nuke | Guide | India | Agency |||| Index | Search |


Maintained by Webmaster