FAS | Nuke | Arms Control |||| Index | Search |

Central Asian Nuclear Weapon Free Zone (CANWFZ)

Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Turkmenistan, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan signed the Almaty Declaration in February 1997 calling for the formation of a Central Asian Nuclear Weapon Free Zone (CANWFZ). In September 15-16, 1997, an international conference was convened in Tashkent, Uzbekistan to consider some of the issues related to the conclusion of such a Treaty, although no actual text for a proposed Treaty was put forth.

The five Central Asian states issued at the Tashkent conference a Foreign Ministers' Statement supporting the conclusion of a Treaty. A UN resolution supporting the initiative for a CANWFZ passed the UN First Committee by consensus in November 1997. A subsequent meeting was held in Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan, in 1998 to begin drafting the text of a Treaty.The United States has told the Central Asian states that the United States is willing to review and provide comments on any draft text of a Treaty. The United States was represented at the conference by a delegation of experts from ACDA, State, and DoD who participated in the conference as observers.

Primary documents, including treaty text and other related material.

Chronological archive of news reports, commentary analysis and other related material.

Related Web Sites

FAS | Nuke | Arms Control |||| Index | Search |


Maintained by Webmaster